FDC outfit – Sunflowers

Some time ago I informed you about the Fashion Designers Challenge and showed you a little teaser of my FDC outfit —> here.

The time has come to show you the unveiled version. Sioxie Legend challenged me to “Make an outfit from Van Gough’s Starry Night or Sunflowers – do not use his paintings directly but rather use them as an inspiration…”.

Here is the result:
FDC outfit - Sunflowers

As you can see on the picture the outfit was inspired by “Sunflowers” from Van Gogh. The sunflowers on the dress are hand-painted by myself to create the “Van Gogh look”. My first attempts of the dress were fully painted but I was absolutely unhappy with them because they looked kind of like freebies (you have to know that I’m a very bad painter) and overloaded with my non-existing painting skills. So after a lot of struggling with brush and paint I decided to just put some painterly accents on the dress and create the rest of it in contradistinction to that painted effect. Therefore I chose a deep blue silky satin texture. So I could combine the typical INDI Design’s style with -for me- new elements. I think the most exciting thing was that I got to know new techniques I otherwise would never have learned. It was a completely new experience, a time full of learning processes and worries, excitement and a lot of fun.   

If you are curious about the challenge I defined for Neferia Abel (Ivalde) continue reading here.

FDC Blog

All FDC outfits are available at this 2 locations (only):

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Road%20to%20Oz/157/137/25

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Snatch%20City/71/51/30

Yours, Jamie Holmer

About jamieholmer

I enjoy being a clothing designer in Second Life where I can act out my creativity, my vivid imagination and my love for details and play of colours. View all posts by jamieholmer

Leave a Reply

